The beginnings of Lawrence Park go back to 1907 when Wilfrid Servington Dinnick, the young, English-born president of a Toronto loan and mortgage company, convinced the board of directors to purchase two farm properties near Yonge Street and Lawrence Avenue East. His intention was to create a garden suburb – one of the first in Canada – for the city’s middle classes.
Originally published in 1994, the revised, expanded book now features 33 stops highlighting 48 houses and other sites of architectural and historical interest. It also includes an overview history of Lawrence Park; biographies of major architects and important residents and more than 50 illustrations of historic maps, archival photographs and drawings. Many of these historical images are from early promotional materials for Lawrence Park and are identified for the first time. One of the book’s many new features is “Lost Lawrence Park”, listing original houses that have been demolished and replaced with new buildings.
Review for 1995 edition
“well told and handily laid out… yet another useful offering from Barbara Myrvold and the Toronto Public Library’s team of indefatigable historians.”
John Bentley Mays,Globe & Mail, Jun. 14, 1995.
Reviews for 2007 edition
“The century-old history of the Lawrence Park community is back in print form, with a recent re-issue of a book highlighting some of the area’s most notable sites.”
Justin Skinner, Toronto City Centre Mirror, Sept. 25, 2007
“a fascinating new booklet filled with old photos and interesting facts”
Mike Filey, Toronto Sunday Sun, Oct, 7, 2007
For sale at research and Reference Libraries: Toronto Reference Library, Directions Desk, 1st Floor, North York Central Library, Gateway Services, 1st Floor
For loan: Find a library copy, 2007 edition